Level 7 Referee
Hi. I am a brand new ref. Not even stepped foot out there yet and will be hiding away in Youth football to start. I had no idea some of the LOTG were written in code and I like to have an easy way of remembering things if at all possible! I cannot get my head around a player receiving the ball in an offside position after it has come into contact with a defender on the way through (not deliberately played back). Specifically - 'A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball, including by deliberate handball, is not considered to have gained an advantage, unless it was a deliberate save by any opponent.' Does this bit mean if the defender attempted to block a goalbound shot and it squirted through then that is a 'save' and would be offside? Compared to the shot brushed or deflected off the defender on the way to the 'offside' player (the defender having made no attempt to 'save' the ball) - this would mean the player HAS? gained an advantage and would therefore be offside? Have you guys got a more simple way of me interpreting this rule or to help me get it right please?