RefSix

Thoughts?

Sheffields Finest

Maybe I'm foolish, maybe I'm blind!
#1
67583720_2591119974273611_3723873749578022912_o.jpg
No bias here from me, nasty tackle by any player, studs directly on ankle!
NB, VAR did check this!!!

Your choice,

1, Play on,
2, FK, (after review)
3 FK & YC, (after review)
4 FK & RC (after review)
Something else ive missed?
 
Last edited:

JamesL

RefChat Addict
#2
View attachment 3641
No bias here from me, nasty tackle by any player, studs directly on ankle!

Your choice,

1, Play on,
2, FK, (after review)
3 FK & YC, (after review)
4 FK & RC (after review)
Something else ive missed?
2 and 3 aren't possible.
This looks like a 4. Haven't seen it real time and stills can always make things look worse but that looks a bad challenge.
 

Sheffields Finest

Maybe I'm foolish, maybe I'm blind!
#4
I watched it live(ish) of a hooky channel and it showed it a few times, it wasn’t shown on the highlights by Sky or the BBC.

It had that label on the screen saying VAR review for possible red card then... nothing... we were amazed in the pub watching it as it looked fairly nasty!
 

RustyRef

Administrator
Staff member
#5
Difficult to tell without actual footage rather than stills, but I suspect in Europe VAR would tell the referee to go and watch it and it would be a red card. PGMOL have publicly said though that the bar for the VAR getting involved is much higher and I suspect there will be far less changed decisions.
 
#8
2 and 3 aren't possible.
This looks like a 4. Haven't seen it real time and stills can always make things look worse but that looks a bad challenge.
Choices 2 or 3 are possible in an indirect way. If the VAR believes there was a clear and obvious error* in not issuing a send off, on review the R could disagree, but think it is worthy of a caution. The VAR cannot send down unless he is recommending review for a send off. But the R can review and decide that it is only a caution. (Given the standards, that should be very rare.)

_____
*I am presuming it would not be a missed incident, as it appears the R is looking straight at it. Though I suppose it could be reviewed as a missed incident if the R tells the VAR that he was completely shielded by the white player's body and could not see the contact at all. As I understand the application, the bar for the VAR to send down is a bit lower on a missed incident, but it still has to be a review for a send off, not for a caution or DFK.
 
#13
I’ve seen the clip and it is completely accidental. He essentially tried to control the ball but the other player slid in and got there first and his carry through (from the slide) put his foot under the red’s foot
 
#15
Doesn't matter if it was accidental - for a red card it only matters if the player used excessive force or endangered the opponent's safety. Based purely on your description he possibly didn't but we still have to apply the correct criteria.
From what I remember it was more reckless than excessive force, as he didn’t really go into the challenge. I did only see it about 6 days ago now though and the screenshot definitely suggests a red
 
Top