A&H

Reporting - How good a witness are you?

Yampy

RefChat Addict
My CFA is Sheffield and Hallamshire FA and in my time as a referee, I've always found the people there very helpful.
One of the resources published by S&H is a newsletter called Benchmark, edited by a gentleman called Ted Ring. In this month's newsletter, Ted has published an article entitled "How Good a Witness Are You?" I thought you'd appreciate having a read of the artcile. There is no copyright on articles originating in Benchmark, but if they are reproduced in other publications we would appreciate an acknowledgement of the origin and of Sheffield and Hallamshire County RA.

HOW GOOD A WITNESS ARE YOU?

Every time you referee a game of football you are called upon hundreds of times to make a decision based on what you have seen. Sometimes these decisions are easy, and they may effectively make themselves, such as when a player clearly kicks the ball out of play when he is unchallenged. You see him do it, there is no controversy, so you decide the restart will be taken by an opponent.

There are times, however, when you have to make a potentially controversial decision, and you base that decision on what you have seen happen. It could possibly be a decision based on what you BELIEVE has happened; because that is the way you interpret what has happened.

Then there are those times when you decide that you have no alternative but to issue a caution or a dismissal. That is when you need to be a really careful witness of what has just happened. A very large percentage of referees make correct decisions in such circumstances. After the game, they travel home and then submit their report to the appropriate authority. If it is a caution, the procedure is fairly straightforward. If there has been a dismissal then the report needs to be given much more thought. After all, a dismissal might eventually lead to a personal hearing.

The Personal Hearing