A&H

referee expenses/HMRC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boris83

hello everyone

I have a question I'm a level 7 referee for about 3 seasons now.
I have spoken to my local f.a who say it's expenses.
have looked into it and its a minefield with HMRC what I need to do declare am I self employed etc!
I only d about 30 games max a season if I'm lucky on a Saturday and some Sundays. any feedback help etc would be appreciated

The Referee Store
Generally speaking it only becomes a problem at L3 and above when the fees rise sharply. You would just need to show that there is minimal profit once you take into account any equipment kit purchases necessary to do the games, laundry costs, mileage at 45p per mile / transport costs (assuming flat fee), RA / other professional memberships, travel to meetings, etc. As a L7 you would only have a problem if you are refereeing as a career, i.e. refereeing a game pretty much every day. I know one referee who regularly does 300 games a season, and is already over 100 this season, but those are few and far between.

Amazon aren't bothered about UK taxes for their multi billion operation in the UK so I don't think you should be worried about your hobby.

Seriously though, it's a non issue

My understanding is that they've just change it so that you no longer have to declare if you earn less than a certain amount (either £700 or £1000 depending where I looked). If you earn more than that, you register as self-employed, but that would be unlikely on "only" a 30 game season

Anything less than £1k a year HMRC are not interested as it is petty cash given to cover expected costs in you carrying out your "hobby" (yes there is a legal term for this even if you want it to become a "job" one day)