A&H

Positioning of Assistant Referees for Offside

CapeTownRef

As everyone who has done it can testify, running the line is not as straightforward as it appears. In the numerous games where I've been an Assistant Referee my instruction from the referee invariably would be to track the last defender. This seems logical as it is easier (not easy) to move with the player as the ball travels a hell of a lot faster. One of my refereeing colleagues here in Cape Town says I am wrong and that you follow the ball. The example he gave was the defending team (in open play) have their players in a line on the edge of the penalty area. The attacking team player in possession slides a pass along the side of the penalty are to a teammate in an onside position and then the attacker receiving the pass drives forward and the assistant referee should then be in line with the ball. In the main, players (and attackers in particular) can move a lot faster than match officials and I feel there is no way I can keep up in line with the ball when a player is in full flight with the ball in front of him. Any thoughts?

The Referee Store
You must be in line with second last defender unless the ball is closer to the defender's goal line, in which case you must be in line with the ball.

In the main, players (and attackers in particular) can move a lot faster than match officials and I feel there is no way I can keep up in line with the ball when a player is in full flight with the ball in front of him. Any thoughts?
Yeap. reading play, anticipation and quick reactions can help but in the main at lower levels, use your experience for a bit of guess work to make up for the shortfall in speed when you are not in line. At higher levels... well you wont make it there if you can't keep up with players.

One of my refereeing colleagues here in Cape Town says I am wrong and that you follow the ball.