RefSix

Penalty Kick Quiz

micky2001

Well-Known Member
#1
Had a training day today with FIFA referees and want to know what you think of these questions.

I'll post the answers later on after you write what you think. Some of them were bringing up interesting discussions and we didn't agree with one in particular.

1) PK is kicked toward goal when a spectator runs on the pitch and kicks the ball before it touches the keeper, the goal posts/bar or another players. how are you restarting?

2) PK taker passes he ball backwards to a teammate. Action if any and restart if applicable?

3) Before the kick is taken the keeper turns away from goal and the ball goes in the net. Decision?

4) after the ball is kicked the keeper turns away from play and the ball goes in the net. Decision?
 

HullRef

RefChat Addict
#2
1.) It would/should be a dropped ball from where the spectator touched the ball unless inside the goal area etc...
2.) Retake
3.) Retake
4.) Goal stands.
 

micky2001

Well-Known Member
#3
Can I just say @HullRef that you answered the same as most of us today :) although you got 2 out of 4 correct according to our FIFA guys
 
Last edited:

micky2001

Well-Known Member
#7
We disagreed with number 2 at the meeting but I now understand the reasoning behind it.

1) Retake - LOTG pg 47 since the ball is touched by outside agent it is retaken
2) IDFK to opponents and yellow for USB - LOTG pg46 since the taker infringes the Taking of the PK and it does not enter the goal IDFK
3) Retake - LOTG pg 132 the keeper must be between goal posts ams under crossbar before the taking and since he isn't the kick is invalid
4) Goal - once play is live the referee cannot tell anyone where to face or what to do
 

HullRef

RefChat Addict
#15
We disagreed with number 2 at the meeting but I now understand the reasoning behind it.

1) Retake - LOTG pg 47 since the ball is touched by outside agent it is retaken
2) IDFK to opponents and yellow for USB - LOTG pg46 since the taker infringes the Taking of the PK and it does not enter the goal IDFK
3) Retake - LOTG pg 132 the keeper must be between goal posts ams under crossbar before the taking and since he isn't the kick is invalid
4) Goal - once play is live the referee cannot tell anyone where to face or what to do
I still disagree with number 3
"If he referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, the goal keeper infringes the Laws of the Game:
-The referee allows the kick to be taken
- If the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
- If the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken

So in this case I don't see how it can be a retake?
 

BrisRef

Well-Known Member
#16
Have you seriously never cautioned a person in 42 games? ;)
Seriously! About 14 of those were as an assistant/4th official but still - I have managed situations quite well in my opinion this season and haven't really needed to caution at all - bar once in one of my first ever games where I should have, but that's another matter...
 

BrisRef

Well-Known Member
#17
I still disagree with number 3
"If he referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, the goal keeper infringes the Laws of the Game:
-The referee allows the kick to be taken
- If the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
- If the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken

So in this case I don't see how it can be a retake?
Page 44 -
The defending goalkeeper: • must remain on his goal line, facing the kicker, between the goalposts until the ball has been kicked
 

micky2001

Well-Known Member
#18
I still disagree with number 3
"If he referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, the goal keeper infringes the Laws of the Game:
-The referee allows the kick to be taken
- If the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
- If the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken

So in this case I don't see how it can be a retake?
As Owen said, pg 44 states the keeper must be on his line etc

pg 45 says that only when the players have adopted their positions in accordance with the law can the kick be taken
 

HullRef

RefChat Addict
#19
As Owen said, pg 44 states the keeper must be on his line etc

pg 45 says that only when the players have adopted their positions in accordance with the law can the kick be taken
So what if the referee signals for the kick to be taken then the keeper turns around because technically he is infringing the LOTG by not being in the right position so it still seems to me to be a goal?
 
#20
We disagreed with number 2 at the meeting but I now understand the reasoning behind it.

1) Retake - LOTG pg 47 since the ball is touched by outside agent it is retaken
2) IDFK to opponents and yellow for USB - LOTG pg46 since the taker infringes the Taking of the PK and it does not enter the goal IDFK
3) Retake - LOTG pg 132 the keeper must be between goal posts ams under crossbar before the taking and since he isn't the kick is invalid
4) Goal - once play is live the referee cannot tell anyone where to face or what to do
Surely if the keeper turns around he is still under the crossbar and between the posts?
 
Top