A&H

Penalty for football (Corruption)

RobOda

RefChat Addict
Level 3 Referee
Saw this on Reddit yesterday:

Over in Serbia. Apparently this is an important match for the Europa League qualification in terms of league standings. He gave that penalty, and reddit went mad with corruption accusations for bit. Apparently they've arrested the referee for it?

https://uk.reuters.com/article/uk-s...after-penalty-howler-police-say-idUKKCN1IG1ZI

I'm trying to verify if this is genuine, because it seems so outlandish? What do you guys think? :sorry:

The Referee Store
It would be very difficult to imagine anything other than corruption being responsible for this. I work in the gambling industry and nothing of this nature would surprise me

It's on Reuters so unlikely to not be genuine.

Looks very, very bad. What is most bizarre is the lack of any real protests from the defending team. That is a horrendous decision yet they don't seem too bothered. You'd expect the player that gave it away to be apoplectic with rage, yet he just lays on the floor.

It's on Reuters so unlikely to not be genuine.

Looks very, very bad. What is most bizarre is the lack of any real protests from the defending team. That is a horrendous decision yet they don't seem too bothered. You'd expect the player that gave it away to be apoplectic with rage, yet he just lays on the floor.
They've probably all lumped on, or seen it all before

Actually, corrupting a sporting event is the easy bit. Getting on, is the difficulty. All major bookmakers have algorithms which spot unusual betting activity; and when it's identified, they simply don't pay out (in most countries, there's no legal obligation to do so)

Actually, corrupting a sporting event is the easy bit. Getting on, is the difficulty. All major bookmakers have algorithms which spot unusual betting activity; and when it's identified, they simply don't pay out (in most countries, there's no legal obligation to do so)