Offside where is free kick taken from

Situation - attacker in an offside position a yard inside opponents half. Long ball played, a couple of attackers chase it. The attacker who was in the offside position is first to touch ball ten yards outside opponents penalty area. Should the free kick be taken from the position he was in when the ball was played or the position where he touched it ?

Kieran W

Well-Known Member
I saw an example of this on the TV recently, can't remember what game now, but the assistant raised his flag for offside then side-stepped about 10 yards back up the line to where the player was when the ball was played


Work hard, stay humble
Level 6 Referee
It happened at the burton albion game as well Keiran, assistant raised is flag by the goal line then side stepped to near the 18 yard line!