A&H

Jmorley

A level 8 referee looking to smash expectations!
Hi all,

I am Jacob, a youth referee operating under Sussex County FA.
I started refereeing in January. My course began 3 days ensuing my birthday, which was lucky.

I have a lot of experience in the Arun & Chichester Youth Football League but have also worked in the Sussex Sunday Youth League.
I have run the line for a U18 School's Match in Brighton, which gave me a great insight into open aged football, I just have to wait until my 16th to take on the whistle in such a fixture.
I also have experience with Brighton & Hove Albion's academy. Having worked on U10 Girls, U13 Boys and am listed as a season-long official for the U14 Girls.
When working at the academy I tend to dress smartly, in a shirt and tie. However, all other matches I turn up in a tracksuit and operate in the teal referee's shirt.

I find that the players I referee question my age a lot, and are very surprised when I respond "14".
For a level 8 referee, I find managers really enjoy my style and are usually very pleased with my performances. I enjoy the satisfaction of refereeing certain teams often as the managers learn who I am and I make a name for myself with them. I am an extremely vocal referee and believe I show confidence on the pitch to attain a high level of match control.
I use an app called RefSix, which links to my watch. I use it to time my matches and on it, I can keep the score on it which is simple and quicker than using a book.
It enables me to see my performance, a heat map showing where I was the most within the confines of the pitch and other fitness tracking capabilities.

I attended last seasons Eve of Final Rally and got to meet the 5 officials of the 2017 FA Cup Final. Anthony Taylor and Bobby Madley were the 'main attraction' in my opinion. Bobby is a very comedic figure and I can't wait to attend the 2018 Eve of Final Rally.