RefSix

Lei Bri

one

RefChat Addict
Level 7 Referee
Touching the ball again with his hand as per OP can never be DOGSO, red or yellow, on 20-21 or pervious LOTG. Previously the keeper can not be sanctioned for handling offences. 20-21 it is only DOGSO if he touches it again with his hand "after a restart" which the OP isn't (another poor wording where it covers a very specific scenario rather than the overall spirit of the law).

Screenshot_20200625-133958__01.jpg

The OP can only be DOGSO/sanctioned for a foul on the opponent.
 

Degnann

SFA Rookie
Level 7 Referee
Touching the ball again with his hand as per OP can never be DOGSO, red or yellow, on 20-21 or pervious LOTG. Previously the keeper can not be sanctioned for handling offences. 20-21 it is only DOGSO if he touches it again with his hand "after a restart" which the OP isn't (another poor wording where it covers a very specific scenario rather than the overall spirit of the law).

View attachment 4372

The OP can only be DOGSO/sanctioned for a foul on the opponent.
these are the things I need to be aware of. Sneaky wording. So only a card if it were like a goal kick and it was passed back and he handled it etc
 

Big Cat

RefChat Addict
Level 6 Referee
Touching the ball again with his hand as per OP can never be DOGSO, red or yellow, on 20-21 or pervious LOTG. Previously the keeper can not be sanctioned for handling offences. 20-21 it is only DOGSO if he touches it again with his hand "after a restart" which the OP isn't (another poor wording where it covers a very specific scenario rather than the overall spirit of the law).

View attachment 4372

The OP can only be DOGSO/sanctioned for a foul on the opponent.
These types of incidents appear not have been foreseen by IFAB, so we're left deriving Law from text that was not intended for the purpose
 
  • Like
Reactions: one

AlexF

RefChat Addict
these are the things I need to be aware of. Sneaky wording. So only a card if it were like a goal kick and it was passed back and he handled it etc
No.

Only a goal kick (or free kick) and the GK takes a poor kick and then plays it again BEFORE any other player to stop an opponent from having a chance on goal.

Previously if the goalkeeper did this with anything but their hands/arms, this was a sanctionable offence, just the same as a player. Now it also includes the goalkeeper playing the ball with their hands/arms.

In those cases, it's still an IFK for playing the ball a second time after a restart before another player touches the ball.

Any of the "standard" goalkeeper IFK offences... still no sanction.
 
Top