RefSix

Impedance - Is it always clear cut

Anthony

Active Member
Level 5 Referee
#1
Do you get players claiming for this when you can see no obvious foul? It happens so often I am now wondering have I got it wrong or is it just another claim for every throw in, foul throw, handball etc category.

If a player turns into a defender or pushes the ball/loses control of the ball they often run straight into the defender and claim a foul. I usually ignore it unless I see a movement from the defender to deliberately impede the attacker. From my point of view the defender often does nothing more than hold his ground and the attacker runs into him. On the TV it seems as if usually a foul is given so either I am missing a subtle movement of the defender or if they run into each then the defender is indeed in the wrong.
I just wonder what was the defender supposed to do?
 

haywain

the voice of reason
Level 7 Referee
#2
re turning into a defender, just look at what a certain mr oliver did when faced with that a few seasons back

spoiler alert: his decision was overturned on appeal


p.s. as a blackpool fan, it seemed pretty well spot on to me ;)
 

Mike

RefChat Addict
#3
re turning into a defender, just look at what a certain mr oliver did when faced with that a few seasons back

spoiler alert: his decision was overturned on appeal


p.s. as a blackpool fan, it seemed pretty well spot on to me ;)
We had this clip at our RA meeting last week, opinions very much divided. Hey, how dull would it be if every decision was nailed on!
 

ELP

Everyone's Favourite Member
#6
He's not stuck a leg out whatsoever, not done anything wrong apart from stand his ground. Penalty is extremely harsh, red card is even harsher but hey, if we all could look back on videos then we wouldn't make mistakes ey...
 

SM

The avuncular one
#7
I have watched that video about 20 times and not commented because I couldn't make up my mind.

It does look like he makes some kind of challenge with his left leg, albeit very weekly, and whether that is a penalty or not....

Not sure why I posted, still cannot decide. :)
 

Beezer

RefChat Addict
Level 5 Referee
#8
I have watched that video about 20 times and not commented because I couldn't make up my mind.

It does look like he makes some kind of challenge with his left leg, albeit very weekly, and whether that is a penalty or not....

Not sure why I posted, still cannot decide. :)
Tell you what !!! you could sit on the fence SM !!!! do it again , one watch , real time put yourself in the match and call it ????? :D

The Nation awaits your view !!!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:
 

CallumRushton13

Well-Known Member
Level 6 Referee
#10
re turning into a defender, just look at what a certain mr oliver did when faced with that a few seasons back

spoiler alert: his decision was overturned on appeal


p.s. as a blackpool fan, it seemed pretty well spot on to me ;)
Absolute stonewall red!! 4 game ban for VC too I thought?? ;)
 

Mace

New Member
Level 7 Referee
#11
its a pen in my humble opinion, defender should have not been drawn in to be so tight, no red not a obvious goal scoring opportunity, still work to do, not even sure it would yellow, but probably.
 
Top