A&H

Im a qualified ref, ref!

HertsFinest

Next Weeks Ref
I know this has come up a few times but I have a couple of peaches to share from today:

CAR for away side (absolute tool of a man) comes up to me and says I am rude and arrogant for over ruling him flagging for a foul throw (despite me telling him pre match I want in out and offisde only). During his whinge he tells me "I am a qualified ref and you missed a blatant yellow card for the penalty, the player came in from behind so it HAS to be a yellow, I am a qualified ref and have an average score of 97%" - When i mentioned the words careless reckless and excessive force, you could almost see the cogs in his head spin as he tried to comprehend these words. Qualified my jacksie.

Seconod one:

Player in the book for dissent (upon second warning to which he turned round and walked off during the talking to, hence 3rd strike and out), says to me "Im a level 12 referee (LEVEL 12?!) and you cant book someone for moaning unless they call you a name and even then you have to give them 5 warnings before you book then"

That is borderline the funniest thing I have heard on a football pitch to date!

Third one:

CAR flags for offside from a throw in (you remember that CAR from earlier with the score of 97%?). Player shouts that you cant be offside from a throw in and the opposition left back shouts "you can if its in the attacking third, im a referee"

The mind boggles

The Referee Store
Yep, really can't figure out the need to blatantly lie like that.
it's a bit like how starting a sentence with 'I'm not a racist, but...' is basically a warning that the next thing they say is going to be extremely racist.

"I'm a referee...." is warning that the next thing they'll say is incredibly stupid!

Usually it's actually things I know referees do get wrong....accidental handling when the ball falls at the player's feet, every PK is a YC, etc etc. Yours are just bizarre. Why would people lie like that?