RefSix

Goalkeepers & Free Kicks

CapeTownRef

New Member
Level 3 Referee
I was asked this today and, to be perfectly honest, I was stumped:-

A goalkeeper is awarded a free kick (direct or indirect) inside his penalty area. As he is the only player allowed to handle the ball inside his area, can he take the kick using his hands e.g., punch the ball to restart.
 

es1

RefChat Addict
Level 4 Referee
trom the free kick procedure in LOTG...

The ball:

  • must be stationary and the kicker must not touch the ball again until it has touched another player
  • is in play when it is kicked and clearly moves

...but who would ever think that using their hands here would be beneficial?!!?!?!
 
Top