Ref4Me

Goal Kick question

PinnerPaul

RefChat Addict
Level 7 Referee
GK (or defender) takes an almost, but not quite, simultaneous double touch and ball goes straight to attacker who 'scores' - can we play advantage and allow the goal or does it HAVE to be an IDFK?

Before anyone dismisses this as 'impossible' it happened in QPR v Man City match a few years ago, BUT then the ball had to leave the PA from a GK, so the correct decision of a retake was made, but now?

Thanks
 
The Referee Store

socal lurker

RefChat Addict
Advantage can be played on any offense while the ball is in play. Since the double touch is an offense while the ball is in play, advantage can be applied.

Aside: For a long time USSF explicitly taught that advantage only applied to Law 12 offenses. Several years ago, apparently in consultation with FIFA or IFAB, they reversed field and made clear that it was any offense while ball was in play, but not an improper restart--if the restart is not proper, the ball is not yet in play.
 
  • Like
Reactions: one

Will_A

Member
Level 5 Referee
I’d be going with the old ‘what does the game expect?’ approach.
Why would you punish the attacker for a GK/Defenders mistake/infringement?

The uproar if you disallowed the goal and gave the defending side a 2nd chance would cause chaos!
 

bester

RefChat Addict
Level 7 Referee
Goal.

DOGSO red if you didn't apply the advantage? Downgraded to yellow if you allowed the goal and advantage?
 

Mr Dean

Well-Known Member
Goal.

DOGSO red if you didn't apply the advantage? Downgraded to yellow if you allowed the goal and advantage?
Only if the second touch denies a goal or goalscoring opportunity. In the example being discussed, it sounds like the second touch is causing a goalscoring opportunity, not denying it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: one

PinnerPaul

RefChat Addict
Level 7 Referee
Thanks all and Mr Dean has the scenario spot on - that's exactly what happened in the actual match (old laws)
 
Top