A&H

First Ever Fixture

EnglishReferee

Twitter @EnglishReferee
Level 9 Referee
Received my first fixture today and really pleased. They've shown a lot of confidence in me giving me a Cambs 4A game as my first. Slightly nervous but feeling good about it as I've a lot of experience within the game.

The game is between two quite even teams, one in 3rd and the other in 6th.. 9 points separating them.

Wish me luck and I welcome any advice.

The Referee Store
Be confident with your decisions, good whistle blowing and if you make a mistake try not to dwell and lets us know how you got on.

Don't doubt yourself, players will try every trick in the book. Don't let players get in your head by saying "he has to go ref, that's a caution." etc. They are trying to influence your decision. Make it clear you are the sole decider of what is classed as infringement and not, and what punishment to sanction.

If you caution or dismiss someone, make sure they tell you the right shirt number. You'll need their name as well.

If you give a decision, stick to it unless you are 100% wrong. You made that decision in the first place because you were sure it was in infringement.

Above all, be confident. Even if you're getting everything wrong during the game, and you know you're having a nightmare, keep your head up. It'll only get worse if you start to doubt yourself, and your match control will suffer because of it.

I've always said that refereeing is not just about knowing what you are doing, but also looking like you know what you are doing. Even if you forget the first part, the second part will save you.

When I did my course my instructor always said 'If you're going to get it wrong, get it wrong with 100% confidence!' which has always stuck with me as solid advice for whatever game you're doing.

You will make mistakes. Don't dwell on them, and good luck!