A&H

Courses are starting to restart and I'm still not sure...

WhoIsThis

Hey everyone,

I posted 6 months back that I was looking to start refereeing and I'm in my final year of uni [I'm 21]. Back then I wasn't 100% sure on refereeing and now courses are starting to reopen again I'm still lacking the motivation to take the next step although I've done the online safeguarding workshop and online section of the course already. I'm sure I'd be fine when I started and although I'm shy I'm not particularly worried about my shyness *during* the games.

I've heard that most doing courses are under 16 which I think would make me feel pretty awkward during the course days. I also think it's probably considered a "weird" hobby [sorry ;)] so not sure what friends/family would think about it, not that that's particularly important.

I'm not really sure what the point of this post was to be honest, more to just put my thoughts out there. Any thoughts / advice would be appreciated!

The Referee Store
There will be a mix of age ranges, I was 24/25 and wa in the mid range. There were kids on the course and adults upto somethings.
Sometimes you just have to lick the frog and jump in at the deep end.

There will be a mix of age ranges, I was 24/25 and wa in the mid range. There were kids on the course and adults upto somethings.
Sometimes you just have to lick the frog and jump in at the deep end.
oh wow from most people I'd heard from they said it was 3/4 kids. Did you have people look at you funny when you said you were refereeing/doing a refs course?

Just try it. Do a few games. It is highly unlikely to be "easy". But you will quickly get an idea if it's right for you.

And yes, I don't think it's a secret that being a referee is a bit weird! Footy mates might be like "whaaat" and some will never get it. But, if you get into it, you will get it.