A&H

Communication Advise.

Saddlemaker

One area I would like to improve is my communication with players. I am a young referee, however my main problem is that I am not much of a talker. Before the game I normally chat to the players, sometimes have a bit of a joke. I am not a timid person (after all I am doing an acting degree) I just have a tendency of ignoring players if they try and talk in mid-game and when I do talk, I get told I talk to much...

I was wondering what one liners people use? Or if anyone had any advice on communication with players?

The Referee Store
try just get general bits out there sometimes, if its cold and wet mention it to a few players whilst your waiting for a goal kick to be taken or if the weekend games saw something big like a bottom club beat a top club in prem or something then just mention it to them, ask what they think. just let them know you are human but only in nice games, if there has been many yellows or a mass brawl or something then its best just to keep quiet until after the game.

Same advice as Arran really, talk about whatever you would talk to them about off the pitch. If somebody scored a particularly good goal, let them know, likewise if they missed a sitter! (Be careful to judge the mood!) Whenever I have a game on a Sunday, you can guarantee that I will have asked at least 1 player if they are having Sunday lunch, it shocks a player and gets them on side.

Another good one is saying something like 'nice try' if a player goes down a bit too easily etc.

It all comes with experience :)

I don't really use one-liners or anything canned. If a player makes a nice play, I like to tell him; if he does something I don't like, I'll employ either a quick word on the run-by, a quiet word during a stoppage, a very public rebuking during a stoppage or I'll resort to misconduct cards.