A&H

CAR’s

• Thread starter Deleted member 3014
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 3014

I know it’s been discussed on other threads so apologies for going over old ground but I have a situation & was wondering what you guys thought?

I ref both Saturdays & Sunday’s, it’s standard for clubs to provide the Lino’s unless they have paid the league for neutrals.

Now I’m a new referee so wouldn’t have dreamt of calling the offsides myself but in all honesty the confidence I’ve gained in 7 games has surprised me & the hassle CAR’s is causing me I’m considering ditching them altogether (need to check with league if I’m allowed), the game I had Saturday was a joke & I actually started to over rule both Lino’s towards the end.

If i ditch the CAR’s & i call the offsides and get it wrong or the players disagree with me then I’m heeping a load of pressure on myself & being a new ref I’m just gaining confidence so don’t want to take a backwards step with my confidence levels.

I can’t win whatever I do, it’s nice to have Lino’s & nice to use them as a scapegoat if everyone is in uproar with the offside call, I just say I’m going with the Lino’s call but Saturday was the worst yet both Lino’s flagged for every single attack to the point it was getting silly, so I started to over rule them & was close to dropping them both altogether.

Referees & there assistants come as a team they have each other’s back & work in sync with each other, but at amateur level it’s not the case the two people the ref should be relying on & backing is actually causing more hassle than what it’s worth.

The only approach I think I can take is start with them & if they are flagging every attack & I disagree with there calls them I’ll ask both to drop there flags.

Any advice?

The Referee Store
Look at the league handbook? It should say in there about the role of CAR's.