A&H

Autistic Player

cdsman

I've just read the thread about making allowances for a child with one arm taking throw ins, and it reminded me of a question I'm keen to get views on.

I'm a referee and a coach at youth level. I have been asked by another coach in my club whether he should tell each referee before his matches that he has an autistic player in his team?

The reason that he is thinking about this is that the child doesn't react well to decisions going against him and struggles with voicing this dissatisfaction in an acceptable manner. He can be loud and vocal, and struggles to control these outbursts. He was recently booked for dissent, and then stormed off the pitch. The coach was allowed to sub him, but he's concerned that he's going to get sent off because once his 'switch is flicked' he needs time to be able to calm down - not a referee demanding that he speaks to him.

As a referee it's difficult to know how we should make allowances for certain players and when we should just follow the LOTG. Unlike the one armed player taking throw ins, this lad's problems are not obvious to anyone else on the pitch, or watching, and any dispensation could be seen to be inconsistent with the treatment of other players.

I wasn't sure what to advise, but didn't see any harm in mentioning to the referee before the match.

The Referee Store
Hmmm.... i'm not unsympathetic toward the player but the conduct expectation and lotg are the same. Being the devil's advocate.... if you were to make allowances where would you stop? How about a kid who is diagnosed bi-polar? diagnosed with depression/anxiety? Oppositional/defiant ? How would you know that it is a legitimate claim and not just cover for bad behavior.