A&H

Applying for multiple leagues

Mada

I'm fresh out of my training and as a follow up I was sent an email with a list containing the contacts from all of the local leagues. I picked a couple of Saturday leagues and a Sunday league.

Over the weekend I received some fixtures assignments via the FA full time website. One of which is as the assistant referee next week in a premier division game which I think will be great experience for me at this stage to learn from a more experienced ref.

My question is whether applying for multiple leagues is a good idea? I'm unsure how sophisticated the FA full time website is and whether my availability/assigned games is shared between different leagues? Otherwise I can see a situation occurring where I could potentially be double booked (i.e. League A has already scheduled a game for the 1st September and League B goes off the availability I sent in via a spreadsheet and double books me).

Given that I'm new to this I wasn't sure how much need these Saturday leagues would have for junior refs but it seems they are quite happy to give me a chance

The Referee Store
Yeah I would make sure you don’t tell different leagues you’re free on the same day or you run the risk of being double booked and then awkwardly having to tell one of them you’re not free despite having previously informed them you were. I normally stick to one Saturday league but I have a couple of Sunday ones I’ll do - I’ll let my preferred league know my availability and then inform other leagues if there are any weeks when they don’t appoint me to games and that prevents any confusion. Leagues almost certainly won’t communicate to each other so you’ll have to be on top of it yourself. RE Saturday leagues - one of the best ways to improve quickly I feel! Often working with more experienced refs, you can really learn what works and what doesn’t for you. Hope this helps somewhat