A&H

Junior/Youth Advice

Harry Sanger

Level 7 Referee
I'm a new referee and I ref mainly Under 13s games.
I just wondered, if a player is down injured, should I always stop play immediately? I reffed an under 13s game today and multiple times players went down injured and I stopped the game everytime.
And if I am stopping the play for this, is it always a drop ball? Even if one team are clearly in possession?
Thanks!

The Referee Store
Hi Harry,

If you're stopping play due to an injury, then it's always a drop ball. Law 8 covers this.

As for how quickly should you stop play....give the player a few moments to see if he looks hurt or if he's just getting his breath back. The LOTG state 'serious injury' is when you stop play, although 'serious' is relative; at youth levels you want to stop play a lot quicker. Probably a lot quicker than is really necessary, so even if you can tell the player's in a bit of pain but not in any real trouble, you'll still want to stop play.
What is happening on the field would have an impact on my decision; I'm not going to stop a clear attack just because somebody is lying down holding a slightly bruised shin. Not unless he's on the ground in the PA where the ball's about to go.

Head injuries are different, naturally.

Hi Harry,

If you're stopping play due to an injury, then it's always a drop ball. Law 8 covers this.

As for how quickly should you stop play....give the player a few moments to see if he looks hurt or if he's just getting his breath back. The LOTG state 'serious injury' is when you stop play, although 'serious' is relative; at youth levels you want to stop play a lot quicker. Probably a lot quicker than is really necessary, so even if you can tell the player's in a bit of pain but not in any real trouble, you'll still want to stop play.