A&H

Young referee from India

Soham

Level 3 Referee
Hi this is Soham from Kolkata, India. I'm a 3rd level referee in my state football federation and look to learn a lot more from my European counterparts as European refereeing is the pinnacle in my opinion. I officiate a lot of college games and district level games and I want to share my experiences here as well and learn more from all here. Regards.

The Referee Store
Welcome! I am interested to know about the district games - what is the atmosphere, crowd, how well trained are the teams, do you have trained assistants etc.?

Hi @santa sangria. Here district level games get really heated because the teams at times get extremely violent. Coming to the atmosphere and crowd it's pretty negligible as there aren't much of a crowd so atmosphere is pretty quiet unless teams choose to become violent among themselves. Teams are trained decently enough but behaviour are at times appalling although they are dealt with properly nowadays. My assistants are trained and I've a specific team of ARs with whom I officiate all my matches so the teamwork and bonding there is really good. Also I would add that college games are much more feisty and challenging for me as a referee because lots of young college students attend those games and the sentiments and rivalry between colleges create a really challenging atmosphere for the referee to deal with. Plus in college games players are comparatively less well trained and awful flying tackles and all sorts of physical behaviour are even more common than district games. All in all I would sum up that college games actually present a bigger challenge than district games for me as a referee.

I’d been interested to hear what a match fee was. I was near Dehli recently and discussed salary with a MasterTech at a dealership. Some on here would be embarrassed to say they got more for two games on a weekend than this qualified mechanic managing a small team got in a week!