A&H

Where has my enthusiasm gone?

deusex

RefChat Addict
Somewhere between November and today, I have just lost all enthusiasm for refereeing and I've no idea why.
Possible reasons I can think of:

1. With my job sometimes taking me abroad at 2 weeks notice I cannot commit to applying for L4, so I've been refereeing the same standard of football for 10 years and (rightly or wrongly) condsider myself well in my comfort zone
2. My own job is VERY boring right now (am I carrying that apathy into to other areas of my life)
3. Player behaviour appalling (although I never had a problem last season, where I issued 100+ cautions, have I just been worn down finally?)

I've only done 25 matches this season, so am hardly burnt out.

Any ideas?

The Referee Store
Really sorry to hear that mate. Hopefully just a temporary thing.

Three suggestions for you.

1) Switch to Womens football. At L5 you'd be able to officiate at a decent level, so greater technical skill, better pitches / facilities and (generally) better player behaviour
2) Switch to Youth football. Potentially more reward for less travel / hassle. Though some would disagree!
3) Spend a while mentoring younger referees to 'give something back' / remember why you loved it in the first place.

Fingers crossed ....

Yeah I'd say if you're feeling like this, take a step back from it is that you've been doing regularly. I'm going to assume men's open age. As suggest above, try a different approach; ladies, youth maybe even disability? Something that you'll get something out of it. Mentor/coach/assessor? Help the next generation for the rest of the season then try again 2016/2017?

I've been a bit fed up with playing over the last few weeks so I've started refereeing more. A change of scenery sometimes helps

Option 3
Last season 11 middles, 16 cautions, 3 dismissals.
This season 16 middles, 29 cautions, 5 dismissals and 3 misconduct charges

Poor player behaviour is killing football below Contributory League