RefLive

Strangest penalty ever

Discussion in 'As Seen on TV' started by Tino Best, Oct 24, 2017.

  1. Tino Best

    Tino Best Well-Known Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    206
    County FA/Organisation:
    Suffolk FA
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RefLive Advertisement RefLive

    RefLive
  4. Ciley Myrus

    Ciley Myrus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    171




    not quite as severe but more local.....
     
  5. bloovee

    bloovee Well-Known Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    37
    County FA/Organisation:
    Liverpool
    I don't think I'd give that. Spirit of the law - as far as I'm concerned the GK briefly stopped the ball moving before he threw it in the goal.
     
  6. Ashleigh Goodall

    Ashleigh Goodall Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    County FA/Organisation:
    Berks & Bucks
    You could argue he never actually stopped it as it seems he fumbles it and at the same time assumes he has saved it and ignores it's ending destination.
     
  7. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Happily minding that Gap

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,811
    Likes Received:
    989
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    Goal, next!!!!....
     
    Mooseybaby, Ciley Myrus and WilliamD like this.
  8. Martiju

    Martiju Active Member Level 6 Referee

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    39
    County FA/Organisation:
    Herefordshire
    So what if it hits the post or bar and spins back in? I don't think you can apply 'spirit' to this one.
     
  9. CapnBloodbeard

    CapnBloodbeard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    947
    County FA/Organisation:
    Football Federation victoria (Australia)
    I don't agree with that. He didn't even catch it. He fumbled it and cheered. No justification in disallowing this goal here. Just a silly keeper.
     
    Mooseybaby likes this.
  10. bloovee

    bloovee Well-Known Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    37
    County FA/Organisation:
    Liverpool
    Whatever happened to no surprises? He saved it. The kicker (and spectators) thought he'd saved it. He didn't have to touch it again. I'm not even sure he fumbled it - just tried to do what a cricketer would do having made a catch - throw it in the air. I think this new VAR which can tell the difference between when the boot hits the ball and when the ball leaves the boot might show it stopped moving ( I guess it means the ball is actually stationary for a moment between those events). Define stop.... Perhaps "stopped moving" should be as flexible as GK holding for the ball for no more than six seconds.

    Go on, seriously - imagine a world cup final shoot-out, keeper makes the "winning" save and is halfway down the pitch to his team mates before the ball which he's knocked away from goal bounces down and into the empty goal. So maybe time to change the definition of when the kick is "completed".
     
  11. CapnBloodbeard

    CapnBloodbeard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    947
    County FA/Organisation:
    Football Federation victoria (Australia)
    No surprises? Why do people only ever think there's one team when they say that?
    Whatever happened to the laws of the game?
    At this stage there are numerous examples of keepers 'saving' the ball, have it bounce up an out, off the crossbar or whatever, keeper runs off to celebrate and the ball goes into the goal. Officials at the highest levels have all agreed these are good goals - if the keeper hasn't stopped the ball, it's a goal.
    And the keeper here most certainly has not stopped the ball.
    You certainly wouldn't consider this a catch in cricket either - the ball was never securely in his possession.
    He didn't catch the ball but for some reason (youth) thought he did enough anyway. He clearly didn't.
     
  12. Andrew.Rainsbury

    Andrew.Rainsbury Rainbow74 Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    County FA/Organisation:
    Kent
    Until the ball has passed the boundary line or is stationary (dead) ... the ball is live!
    Long live the ball!!
     

Share This Page