RefLive

Re-entering the field of play

Discussion in 'Laws of the game' started by MJW89, Oct 23, 2017.

  1. MJW89

    MJW89 New Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    County FA/Organisation:
    Worcestershire
    hi folks just a quick one. If a player is asked to leave the FOP play by a referee to correct equipment must they exit and re-enter at the half way line? Also what is the procedure for a player going off the FOP for medical attention in terms of returning during play or not and which touch line they return from?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RefLive Advertisement RefLive

    RefLive
  4. AlexF

    AlexF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    234
    County FA/Organisation:
    Canada - OSA
    They need not enter at the halfway line. If during a stoppage, they can enter from any boundary line, during play, it must be from the touch line (either touch line).
     
  5. Peter Grove

    Peter Grove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    392
    County FA/Organisation:
    Retired
    Actually, for a player who has left the field to correct their equipment, the law does not specify where they are allowed to re-enter. However, since their equipment must be checked by a match official before re-entering I would say that in almost all cases that would mean it having to be from the touch-line.

    For a player returning after injury, see the reply from @AlexF.
     
  6. MJW89

    MJW89 New Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    County FA/Organisation:
    Worcestershire
    Cheers guys!
     

Share This Page