RefLive

Old Throw in Law

Discussion in 'Laws of the game' started by Sheffields Finest, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. CapnBloodbeard

    CapnBloodbeard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    947
    County FA/Organisation:
    Football Federation victoria (Australia)
    You don't think following the thrower up and down the line to stand right on the line is an attempt to block the thrower???
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RefLive Advertisement RefLive

    RefLive
  4. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Happily minding that Gap

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,811
    Likes Received:
    989
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    I thought a player had the right to stand wherever he wanted?? Maybe he was just being a bellend and the ref got sick of his antics???
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2017
  5. CapnBloodbeard

    CapnBloodbeard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    947
    County FA/Organisation:
    Football Federation victoria (Australia)
    Did you miss the part that he was following the thrower up and down the line? Pick a spot and stand in it, sure. Stop the thrower going around you and you're blocking it.
    I'm genuinely surprised that you're sounding like a player here....
     
  6. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Happily minding that Gap

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,811
    Likes Received:
    989
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    Since when did you have to stand still when a throw was taken? I must of missed that bit?
     
  7. CapnBloodbeard

    CapnBloodbeard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    947
    County FA/Organisation:
    Football Federation victoria (Australia)
    Must HAVE. You don't abbreviate it to must'f
    You're also engaging in a strawman. I never said you had to stand still. But following the thrower up and down the field to stand right on the line is blocking it.

    Same as a player half a step outside the PA walking back and forth to ensure he's in front of the keeper releasing the ball.
     
  8. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Happily minding that Gap

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,811
    Likes Received:
    989
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    Who made you the modal auxiliary verb police inspector?? :eek:
     
  9. Peter Grove

    Peter Grove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    392
    County FA/Organisation:
    Retired
    A player had (and has) the right to stand where they want during normal play. However in certain specified situations (basically, all dead ball restarts) they do not. Even under the old law, a player was not allowed to unfairly distract or impede the thrower. Following a player up and down the line while "stand[ing] directly in a defenders face" to prevent the throw from being taken sure sounds like unfairly distracting and impeding the thrower to me.

    The full wording from the old law (before the 2 yards provision was brought in) was:
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
    GraemeS and CapnBloodbeard like this.
  10. SLI39

    SLI39 Active Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    45
    County FA/Organisation:
    Berks and Bucks
    Thanks for quoting the old law verbatim. I think it's another example of where the laws have improved so as to indicate how one not only punishes, but also restarts from, such offences. I think they could go further in clarifying whether the ball has effectively come into play when a player commits misconduct from a set piece.
     
  11. AlexF

    AlexF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    234
    County FA/Organisation:
    Canada - OSA
    I think that they clarified it really well (bold is mine):

    When is a throw-in taken? Well, when the procedure in the first portion of Law 15 is met (ie, two hands, feet on ground, etc, and ball comes into play). How do I get that? Based on the consistent language used thoughout that Law.

    So... if the throw-in has been taken (ie, the ball comes into play), then award the IFK.
     
  12. Peter Grove

    Peter Grove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    392
    County FA/Organisation:
    Retired
    And at other set pieces it's pretty clear and straightforward too, the ball is in play when it is kicked and clearly moves (slight exception for a penalty where it must move forward).
     
  13. SLI39

    SLI39 Active Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    45
    County FA/Organisation:
    Berks and Bucks
    Thanks, it is nice to be enlightened by people who don't tie themselves in knots where the LOTG are concerned! I hope I didn't appear dim, but I was probably guilty of over-thinking the throw-in law and ended up questioning the concept, across the board, that misconduct does not necessarily invalidate procedure.
     
  14. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Happily minding that Gap

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,811
    Likes Received:
    989
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    So, it also says something about punishing the more serious offence.... Throwing a ball in someones mush isn't a violent act then, or is the play acting by the opponent taking the rap for it all??
     
  15. AlexF

    AlexF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    234
    County FA/Organisation:
    Canada - OSA
    I was in a course this weekend, and at least half of the participants (at any given time) were guilty of over-thinking something to do with what they were dealing with.

    It's a natural thing to start reading things too deeply, to start questioning things that are correct, etc.
     
  16. SLI39

    SLI39 Active Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    45
    County FA/Organisation:
    Berks and Bucks
    These aren't simultaneous offences, though, so both should be punished. Indeed, the second is a violent act and warrants a red card. But the moment the ball comes into play and an opponent was guilty of unsporting behaviour, it's an indirect free kick and caution.
     
  17. CapnBloodbeard

    CapnBloodbeard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    947
    County FA/Organisation:
    Football Federation victoria (Australia)
    I disagree there - like blocking a FK, the offence occurred while the ball was out of play.
    It becomes a question of whether you're going to apply the strict letter of the law and retake the TI, or whether you want to do what makes sense and award the DFK. But if you award the DFK then perhaps you can no longer card the player who got smashed in the face with the ball.

    Of course, had the referee been proactive, this wouldn't have happened. But sometimes things happen too quickly.
     
  18. one

    one Well-Known Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    156
    I may be misreading your intent there but the strict letter of the law asks for a IFK and not a retake. In fact the law is very clear here and you don't really have any other choice.
     
    SLI39 likes this.
  19. SLI39

    SLI39 Active Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    45
    County FA/Organisation:
    Berks and Bucks
    A month late, but yes, I was wrong here. Penal offences against a team-mate were added to DFK restarts in 2016/17.
     

Share This Page