RefLive

N Ireland v Clockmakers

Discussion in 'As Seen on TV' started by Sheffields Finest, Nov 10, 2017.

  1. howard_webb

    howard_webb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    63
    County FA/Organisation:
    FIFA
    2 critical errors

    In the game first the red card and then the hand ball he's been marked down for,

    there is more chance of a few referees on here making the world cup than him after that game
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RefLive Advertisement RefLive

    RefLive
  4. howard_webb

    howard_webb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    63
    County FA/Organisation:
    FIFA
    He will be no where near the world cup with the score he got on Thursday night

    His international career is over
     
  5. Mintyref

    Mintyref Well-Known Member Level 6 Referee

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    395
    County FA/Organisation:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    I'll get my whistle back out if that's a promise?
     
  6. santa sangria

    santa sangria Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    301
    The defender turns side on, leading with his arm, and it looks like he blocks the ball with his arm. This looks like a penalty to me. And it looks more like a penalty the more I watch the replays. I am an Ireland fan and would love to see them at the WC.

    My other thought on this is: if you are an international defender and want to play in the world cup, don't jump in the air, leading with your arm to block a shot in the box, because, if it looks like handball, you might give away a penalty, and not go to the world cup.

    For me, it seems like the defender is at fault here.
     
  7. RustyRef

    RustyRef Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    778
    I think you are going to be pretty much alone on that. How can you possibly justify that he has intentionally handled the ball there?
     
  8. santa sangria

    santa sangria Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    301
    This is the age old "making yourself big" debate in a way... The player is not looking granted... But leads with the arm to block the ball... That looks deliberate...
     
  9. RustyRef

    RustyRef Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    778
    Not for me, his arm is pinned by his body, and I don't think he was making himself look bigger, intentionally or otherwise. Even the match referee has seemingly admitted, having seen the replay, that he got it badly wrong.
     

Share This Page