I've just come across this - although it was apparently issued nearly a month ago. I haven't seen any previous discussion on here about this circular despite searching so if it has already been mentioned, my apologies. http://www.theifab.com/backend/library/doc/circular-11-clarifications-to-the-laws-of-the-game-201718 Some interesting (and somewhat suprising) "clarifications" here - the biggest surprise for me being that a penalty - and a red card can now be awarded for a goalkeeper inside their own penalty area committing what according to Law 12 is considered as a handling offence - even though the IFAB now says it isn't. I'm not 100% convinced about the reasoning here - I wasn't aware that direct free-kick offences and handling offences were two mutually exclusive categories. This also reverses a previous Q&A answer, in 2006 we had this as the ruling: It also goes against the statement in Law 12 that says "hitting the ball with a thrown object (boot, shinguard, etc.) is an offence" which comes under the category of "Handling the ball."