A&H

Open Age First game

adams09

Level 7 Referee
So I've been refereeing for 4 years now from U11-U18 football. Next weekend however I have my first open age game, and I'm wondering if anyone has any advice for match/player control?

I'm 18 so near enough all players will be older than me, and I'm slightly worried about getting them to listen to me.

Thanks

The Referee Store
I'll probably get shouted at for this but I'd go for the card happy approach first to control the players, the first YC is the one players will go off for future reference, be strong minded and don't take any BS, they give it and card 'em. I'm 17 myself and most senior players know the young en's are often the strict b*****ds (I've been called that, £10 out the window the player). Just be confident but not ****y, don't look hesitant if you can help it and use the captains with player issues where posible, if the first tackle is a horrid one get the cards out, don't go giving bollockings out as you'll soon find that an absolutely horrific challenge will come in that players expect yellow for. You'll find that if you be a strict git your name will go around and before you know it players won't give you any s**t at all (or very little of it anyway)
Most importantly! Enjoy it!

Thank you, I was thinking about cards for things such as descent or bad tackles. But general flow of the game and minor fouls I'm just thinking lots of verbal communication and let all players know I'm not phased by the game.

its a dangerous game to play going heavy with the cards :) all I am saying...

I'm 29 and not had a get out the cards out yet in my games. I've come close though.

Just be confident and players will feed off that and respect it irrespective of their age