A&H

First few open age games

Owswald

Level 7 Referee
I’m a 16-year-old ref based in the north of England, I’ve been a referee for just under three years and I recently reffed my first open age game.

I think it mostly went well, only two cautions and not a close game. My biggest concern afterwards was the level of dissent I was tolerating - having only ever done junior games before, the level of dissent seemed unbelievably high - mostly in terms of how constant it was. Is it right to accept a higher level of dissent at this level, because it seemed to be fairly standard? Although of course I don’t know really what’s standard, having only done one game.

Also, do you have any advice on how I can talk to these players (who are all older than me) in a way that doesn’t patronise them?

I have another match a week on Saturday, followed by a League Cup semi-final two weeks after that, for which I’ll have neutral assistants. They’re both much more experienced than me (one’s the league chairman/RA secretary and the other’s the league secretary). I’ll definitely use them as a source of advice but I wondered if you have any tips for making the most out of NARs.

Thanks in advance.

The Referee Store
I’m a 16-year-old ref based in the north of England, I’ve been a referee for just under three years and I recently reffed my first open age game.

I think it mostly went well, only two cautions and not a close game. My biggest concern afterwards was the level of dissent I was tolerating - having only ever done junior games before, the level of dissent seemed unbelievably high - mostly in terms of how constant it was. Is it right to accept a higher level of dissent at this level, because it seemed to be fairly standard? Although of course I don’t know really what’s standard, having only done one game.

Also, do you have any advice on how I can talk to these players (who are all older than me) in a way that doesn’t patronise them?