RefLive

and now for something completly different...

Discussion in 'As Seen on TV' started by Ciley Myrus, Oct 29, 2017.

  1. Ciley Myrus

    Ciley Myrus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    171
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RefLive Advertisement RefLive

    RefLive
  4. es1

    es1 Well-Known Member Level 4 Referee

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    152
    County FA/Organisation:
    North/West Yorkshire
    Friend sent me this earlier...

    It looks like he does win the ball with his head...if you take the ball like that with a tackle with your feet you're probably ok, though he does follow through with his body

    Clearly a case of endangering his own safety as well!
     
  5. santa sangria

    santa sangria Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    300
    How does a player come up with that as an idea? He is not tripped. He deliberately does a McTwist dive at a ball on the ground head first taking the ball and player. insane move. Good call by the ref to give it as it was so bizarre.
     
  6. JamesL

    JamesL Well-Known Member Level 4 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    371
    County FA/Organisation:
    Cheshire
    Any1 think the restart is incorrect here?

    Surely this falls into playing in a dangerous manner, which, I thought was an idfk offence.
     
    alexgr likes this.
  7. es1

    es1 Well-Known Member Level 4 Referee

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    152
    County FA/Organisation:
    North/West Yorkshire
    Unless he's actually given it for a foul
     
  8. GraemeS

    GraemeS Well-Known Member Level 5 Referee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    560
    County FA/Organisation:
    Essex
    I did have that thought, but I think the foul has actually been given as there is some body contact with the strikers legs before he heads the ball.
     
  9. JamesL

    JamesL Well-Known Member Level 4 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    371
    County FA/Organisation:
    Cheshire
    Yeh I was assuming he must have awarded a foul tackle or similar offence. Hadnt looked into too much detail as to whether the contact is player first... just looked at first viewing piadm... of course iootr he may have awarded it for something else.
     
  10. one

    one Well-Known Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    156
    LAW 12:
    "If an offence involves contact it is penalised by a direct free kick or penalty kick."
     
  11. JamesL

    JamesL Well-Known Member Level 4 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    371
    County FA/Organisation:
    Cheshire
    Also law 12
    Indirect free kick
    An indirect free kick is awarded if a player:
    • plays in a dangerous manner

    Playing in a dangerous manner is any action that, while trying to play the
    ball, threatens injury to someone (including the player themself)

    It could be argued he trying to play the ball, and was successful in doing so. I can see how a dfk is given here as ref could easily say the player charged or jumped at his opponent or that contact with player happened before ball.

    I dont think its as clear cut as contact =dfk for this scenario personally though
     
  12. AlexF

    AlexF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    234
    County FA/Organisation:
    Canada - OSA
    Yes, and there's a reason that the Law includes the words "If an offence involves contact it is penalised by a direct free kick or penalty kick."

    That means that, it may have been PIADM, but contact was made, so now it stops being PIADM and becomes one of the DFK offences.
     
    one likes this.
  13. one

    one Well-Known Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    156
    This is a quote from the 15/16 LOTG which was removed in the big change.
    I don't think it was removed because it doesn't apply anymore, but because it is now redundant as law 12 indicates any offence involving contact is a DFK.
     
    Peter Grove likes this.
  14. JamesL

    JamesL Well-Known Member Level 4 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    371
    County FA/Organisation:
    Cheshire
    Yes that makes sense.
     

Share This Page